Answers to Prayer…or Not

It’s amazing to me how we can pray for something and something or someone comes into our life that/who we think is the answer to that prayer and then it/they end up not being the answer to our prayer.
Over a year ago I asked God for something and a few months ago I thought He had answered that prayer. I even felt that He had told me that He answered it. I sit here tonight having lost that thing that I thought was an answer to prayer.
There’s a lot of pain in it but there is also joy. I’m hurt that my hopes and expectations weren’t fulfilled, but at the same time I know that God has something infinitely better in store for me.
It’s hard. I’m reminded once again that I haven’t arrived at perfection in my walk with Christ. I don’t hear His voice as clearly as I want to. And I have come face-to-face with the truth that what’s in my heart isn’t always what’s in God’s heart; even after extensive transformation (see 2 Corinthians 3:17-18).
“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ESV). These words are very dear to me in this time.
I guess I would just encourage everyone who reads this to not be discouraged by prayers that you thought were answered that haven’t been. God is good and He has His own timing. Wait on Him, and continue to seek Him for the things you desire.
Blessings!


One response to “Answers to Prayer…or Not

  • Silu Maain

    Yes brother what you are saying is right. We always ask favour from God but never thought of giving him thanks and praise for what he gave to us. He always gives us the right things may be that is not we expected but he gives us the good things becauze he loves us so much.

    God bless

Leave a comment